The Orchard Blog


Tragedy in Asia by orchardblog
December 28, 2004, 10:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m taking a break from my “mini” vacation in UP Michigan to address the horrific tragedy that has taken place in Asia as a result of the massive tsunami that hit this region.

As of right now, we are told that there are at least 55,000 confirmed dead. As the news has come in, my first reaction is to ask “what can we do to reach out to the people of this region?”

Although I do not have the answer to that question at the moment, I am in contact with an organization that may be able to connect us to local churches in this region who we can partner with and reach out to.

I have also just spoken with Jim Larson, our missionary friend in Bangkok. Jim suggests that we do our best to connect with a local church in the area. I agree.

As soon as we have some clear direction, I will mass email our church family and ask as many people to get involved as possible.

Stay tuned and in the meantime, let’s pray for God’s peace to be upon every family who has lost a loved one.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

