The Orchard Blog


Prayer by orchardblog
May 20, 2005, 2:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Pastor Scott asked us to commit this week to journal our prayers. I’ve been doing this and it’s been great! I’ve enjoyed getting my thoughts and prayers out on paper.

I’ve notice that as I follow this P.R.A.Y. acrostic…it’s helped my prayer life. It keeps me from immediately going to God with requests. I first take time to focus on Him (P – Praise)…and that alone gives me confidence. It helps me remember how BiG and how LOVING He is. It helps me remember that He has been there all along and is here now.

Then “R – repent” helps me to reflect on the mistakes I’ve made since my last time in prayer! It’s been tough to write those down and “admit” my wrongdoings. Won’t it be good, though, to look back and see how God has helped me in areas I’ve struggled!

“A – Ask” This is the easiest and tends to be the longest section in my journal…which is interesting. But I look forward to going back and looking to see what God has done in my life and in the lives of those for whom I am praying.

“Y – Yield” — This helps me to remember to allow God to have His way…I know His plan is going to be better than mine.

Have any of you tried this type of prayer and benefitted from it too? Let us know!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

