The Orchard Blog


Remixed Prayer for a Radical Gospel by orchardblog
June 15, 2005, 8:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

(Hey guys – this is good! Some good thoughts as we continue our personal journey of prayer.)

LAKE FOREST, Calif. (PD) — Louie Giglio turned the focus of youth ministers attending the 2005 Purpose Driven Youth Conference to a “remixed” prayer life that can help them focus on the radical nature of the Gospel rather than simple clichés.

“If the idea of this conference is to deepen your faith, if the idea is that there is another kind of relationship with God than a surface-level cliché, going through the motions Christianity, I want to ask you, are you experiencing that?” Giglio. director of the Passion Conferences and The Passion Network, asked the 1,500 youth ministers in attendance.

He then shared four remixed versions of typical cliché prayers many Christians regularly pray.

Instead of “Forgive me,” pray “Thank you for forgiving me.”
Believers no longer have to ask God to forgive them, Giglio told a surprised audience. Realizing many would point to the Lord’s Prayer as a rationale for continuing to ask God for forgiveness, he reminded listeners that it preceded the death and resurrection of Christ.

Citing 1 John 1:9, Eph. 4:32, Col. 2:13 and others, Giglio declared that God had already forgiven those who believe in ChristThe post-resurrection model of how a Christian deals with sin is to confess it, repent from it (commit to not doing it again) and thank God for his forgiveness. Giglio particularly shared concern over believers who make general requests for forgiveness in prayer, such as “forgive us of any sins we might have committed.”

Giglio said: “[Asking him for forgiveness] insults him because he has already forgiven us through his son, and it insults him because he wants us to be in a living relationship with him, where we say, ‘I sinned. Your spirit convicted me of that. I know it. I acknowledge what I did and I want to repent from it.'”

Instead of “Bless me,” pray “Let us bless you.”
Noting Ephesians 1:3, Giglio said there was no reason to ask God to bless us because he has already blessed us with “every spiritual blessing.” Again, he acknowledged that many are going to point to Old Testament passages where God promises to bless his people. According to Giglio those promises are fulfilled completely through what Christ did on the cross and his presence with us through the Holy Spirit.

“I’m just saying we dial into the reality of the cross and the resurrection and say, ‘We are blessed,” Giglio said.

Giglio then remixed the prayer, suggesting that believers instead pray, “Let us bless you.”

“Lord, let me bless you in how I do my job and the way I walk into this meeting,” Giglio added. “Lord, let me bless you in everything I do.”

He suggested that those in attendance consider this the next time they’re tempted to pray for God’s blessing over an event. Often, he believes, this sounds as if the event didn’t have its origin with God anyway, as if he is blessing someone else’s idea.

“Before we enter a youth meeting, our remixed prayer would be ‘We just want one thing. We want what happens behind these doors to make you happy,'” Giglio said.

Instead of “Lord, be with us,” pray “Lord, live through me.”
Through Pentecost, God went beyond just being with us. He’s now “in us” through the Holy Spirit. Still, believers pray as if God is looking over the edge of heaven at them, he said.

Giglio told those in attendance to “punt the Christianese because it means nothing to him and apparently nothing to us because we don’t know what it means.”

“If Christ is in you, you are inseparably linked,” Giglio said. “Why would you ever ask him to be with you?”

Giglio encouraged the youth ministers to instead pray “live through me.”

“Be with me is about me,” Giglio said. “Live through me is about [God]. It is about [God] doing something supernatural through my life.”

Instead of “Protect us,” pray, “use me.”
Giglio used the story of Gladys Staines, the wife of a martyred Australian missionary to India, to illustrate his final point.

After her husband and two sons were burned alive as they slept in a car, Staines told reporters, “I have only one message to the people of India: I am not bitter; neither am I angry. But I have one great desire that each citizen of this country would establish a personal relationship with Jesus Christ who gave his life for their sins. Let us burn hatred and spread the flame of Christ’s love.”

Giglio said that Staines’ quote appeared in every newspaper in the country the next day. The mission was greater than the personal protection of this particular family, he told the audience.

The problem with praying for God’s protection, Giglio stated, was that it was a prayer that God could not always answer. Sometimes God calls a believer to an action that might end the person’s life.

Praying for protection wasn’t bad, Giglio said, but believers must move beyond mere protection.

Giglio’s remixed version of the prayer said: “Lord protect us as we go out and do your will, but more than that, Lord, use me no matter what. Whatever makes the story bigger, do that. Use me Lord. No matter what happens, make it count for your glory.”

-Purpose-Driven®-

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

