The Orchard Blog


Mother’s Day by orchardblog
April 26, 2006, 10:21 am
Filed under: The Orchard

As a mother of four older children (my oldest is 17 and my youngest is 12) I have been thinking a lot lately about the journey my children have taken and what still lies ahead. It's incredible how fast these years have gone!

As we look forward to college next year I think how hard it will be to not have my oldest daughter home. I never realized until I came to this place in my life how difficult it was for parents when their children left home – if even for a short time.

I am so thankful that my daughter and I have had such a great relationship. Dont get me wrong, there have been plenty of times I could have given her away! But she has truly been a blessing and we have grown to appreciate each other.

With Mother's Day coming up (May 14th) I think about my mom and how great it is to have such a special relationship with her. We were not always as close as we are today, and we worked hard to get to this point. Now that I am a "grown up" I can truly appreciate the difficulties she had raising four children!

I thank God for giving me to my mom – he had it planned all along!

If you have children, appreciate the time you have with them. They will be grown up and gone before you know it!

Posted by Terri Casey

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well put, I have 1 of each, my son is 16 already and my daughter is 14. Yikes where does the time go. They are a real blessing from God though, and I am proud of both.

Comment by Dave




Leave a Reply

