The Orchard Blog


Summer Reading by orchardblog
July 18, 2006, 8:34 am
Filed under: The Orchard

scottbook.jpg

Someone asked me the other day to suggest a couple of good reads for the summer, so I thought I’d post a few books that I’ve been chewing on lately.  But I’m also interested in hearing what YOU are reading, so go ahead and leave a comment.  Share with us!
A few of my recent reads:

An Unstoppable Force by Erwin McManus
Wow…what a great book.  I first read this book back in ’02 or ’03 and picked it up again a week or two ago.  For some reason, the book is resonating with me BIG TIME now – way more then the first time around.  Anything by McManus will challenge the daylights out of you!  (Also, check out The Barbarian Way – another great book…)

Breaking the Missional Code by Ed Stetzer
I was sent this book to review on my blog, so I read it more out of obligation than anything, but I am so glad I did!  Great book about churches connecting with our culture.

Change the Way You See Everything by Kathryn Cramer and Hank Wasiak
This was a good read that really helps remind us all how important it is to think right.  It’s all about, what the authors call, “Assett-Based Thinking.”  It’s not a “Christian” book – but it’s certainly principled around Biblical ideas.  We’ve been journeying through this book in some of our staff meetings.  GREAT book for those of you who lead a staff or organization.  Some good exercises at the end of each chapter.

Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell
This is a really great book.  Not a real recent read, but I had to put it on the list.  If you aren’t afraid of asking and exploring questions that pertain to your personal faith, then this is a great book for you.  It’s been considered a bit “controversial”, but I think that’s what makes it great!  Controversy is not a bad thing!

I reviewed a few of these books a little more in depth on my personal blog.  You can find them here.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

When do you have time to read all of these books? In between reading Pat the Bunny, Go Dogs Go,and Arthur’s Christmas for the one hundredth time, I am trying to read Practicing the Presence Of God,
Bringing Up Boys and having a competion with my daughter to read the entire Left Behind Series(I’m winning, I think, but seem to have neglected a few chores in the process.LOL)

Comment by Michele

I could not agree with your “CHANGE THE WAY YOU SEE EVERYTHING” book recommendation more. I recently read it and found its message to be both positive and inspirational. As a spiritually connected person this book only provided me with more incentive to become closer to g-d.

Comment by Sammie

I really loved the spiritual undertones of this book and all the beautiful illustrations! I am a young woman trying to find her path through life and found Change The Way You See Everything to be really helpful. Thanks for the suggestion.

Comment by Kristin

Thanks to all of you for experiencing our book and the wonderful comments. In creating it Kathy and I relied heavily on our own deeply held values and beliefs that it’s far more productive and rewarding to appreciate the assets we have in evry way, every day. So, thanks for joining the positive conspiracy and look forward to hearing more good things. Be well

Hank

Comment by Hank Wasiak




Leave a Reply

