The Orchard Blog


The Art of Self-Leadership by orchardblog
July 26, 2006, 2:27 pm
Filed under: The Orchard

Courageous Leadership

This summer one of the many books I’ve been reading is Courageous Leadership by Bill Hybels. This is such an EXCELLENT leadership book!!!

The chapter I just finished reading discusses SELF-LEADERSHIP. It emphasizes how important it is for us to set aside time to invest in ourselves. Even Jesus took time away to be with the Father.

If you feel yourself becoming burned out, overwhelmed or discouraged…ask yourself how much time you’ve spent being quiet and recalibrating.

If you don’t take time developing your “spiritual” self, you won’t have anything to invest in to your family or those you lead at work and/or at church.

Bill Hybels challenges all Christ followers to ask these questions:

1. What’s my mission, God?

2. Where do you want me to serve?

3. What role would you have me play in your grand kingdom drama?

Take time this week to ask God those question. Take time to remind yourself how much your Father loves you! Allow Him to refresh you, reenergize you, and remind you of your purpose!

Posted by Kathryn Egly

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am reading the book “The Power of a Praying Parent” by Stormie OMartian after receiving it as a gift when my son was born–ok, 3 1/2 years ago. I’ve been a little busy–no time to read about such stop and focus prayer stuff. Boy I could just kick myself for not diving into it earlier. Its an awesome outline of the ways we can specifically pray for our kids. The chapters are about 5-6 pages long and she includes sample prayers and bible verses so the research is already done. I highly recommend it to any parent who ponders over their children at any age. Its also shown me how to pray for myself. There are many things I want for my kids that I hope for myself: that they will have a drive & desire to know God; that they will learn of their gifts and abilities and how God wants to use them; that they will be protected from temptation and toxic influence…I could go on. And I will. She opens the book stating that sending your child out into the world without prayer is like watching from the sidelines while your child plays in a football game without pads or helmet. Interesting image.

Comment by Joni




Leave a Reply

