The Orchard Blog


Sharing your faith by orchardblog
December 12, 2006, 3:16 pm
Filed under: The Orchard

Do you ever want to share your faith with a friend, but aren’t sure how?

I don’t know about you, but really pushy salespeople send me running the other direction. I really want people to know Christ, but I don’t want to push them away, either.

Here are a few tips that may help:

1. Share what God has done in your life.

  • I LOVE hearing what God is doing in lives at the Orchard!! If I weren’t a Christ-follower, these stories would make me want to become one!
  • As you share what a difference Christ has made in your life, it may open a door for others to begin to share their questions or concerns with you.

2. Be compassionate

  • Matthew 14:14 syas that when Jesus saw a great multitude, “he was moved with compassion for them and healed their sick.” When someone is not living for God, many times they already feel convicted in their heart. So, rather than jamming Jesus down their throats, show them His compassion.
  • Compassion is the LOVE OF GOD IN ACTION. Can you help them with their children or buy them groceries?
  • People often respond to that kind of love. Kindness is what leads us to repentance. In everything you do, keep a smile on your face and reflect Christ’s kindness. That will draw people to you (and ultimately, to HIM!)

3. Invite them to our church

  • We are SO blessed to have a great church in which to invite others.
  • We do our best to create a safe, welcoming place for the non-churched.
  • Give people a flyer to an upcoming series! If they don’t come, keep inviting them. If often takes MANY invitations before someone will come.

4. Most importantly…set a good example.

  • A DC Talk songs says, “The biggest cause of atheism today are Christians who confess Jesus with their mouths but deny Him by their lifestyles.”

Posted by Kathryn Egly

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Its so good to have instruction in this. I do better if I’ve thought about it a little ahead of time. I used to get so worried that if I didn’t get the “presentation” just right, I’d screw everything up. I’m learning that just being myself and telling my own story is much more suitable for me. For a long time, I never thought I had any sort of huge conversion testimony to give. But taking the time to think it through, I remembered what it means to have Jesus. Good tips.

Comment by Joni




Leave a Reply

