The Orchard Blog


God’s a parent, too by orchardblog
January 18, 2007, 4:16 pm
Filed under: The Orchard

I don’t have children of my own yet. But I hear about the struggles that parents are going through as they raise children that are different and complex.

If you are a parent,  take time to pray for your children. Pray that God would show you how they were created and who they are meant to be.  Ask God to help you to understand and develop their personality.

If your child is going through an especially difficult time, ask God to reveal your childs fears to you and to reveal what the “root” of the problem is.

He wants to help you raise your child to be a positive influence in the world! Stop and talk to him about those things now!

Posted by Kathryn Egly

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

WOW, this is exactly what I needed to read! Especially asking God what I need revealed to me about my child’s fears and what is the “root” of the issue. We have a had a really hard year with extended family issues, and I know this has taken a toll on our kids. I never thought of taking that time and praying that God would reveal what my kids are feeling. Very eye-opening…Thank you Kathryn for sharing that.

Comment by Dawn Miller

Oh yeah, uh, prayer. Who knew?
Dawn, great book on the subject is Stormie O’Martian’s “The Power of a Praying Parent”. I was just thinking this week that I need to read that a 3rd time. Might be on Mother’s Heart table.

Comment by Joni

You know Kathryn, you may not have “children of your own” yet but I want you to know that you have a PROFOUND effect on kids through your ministry at the Orchard. I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again–my kids beg to go to church and pretend NOT to be sick so they can go. Whose kids do that? My 5 yr old daughter talks daily about God and when she does something wrong, she tells me she’s sorry to God for whatever offense. My son memorizes bible verses at the age of 4. My 2 yr old sings worship songs. Yes there is parental influence and it is totally reinforced on Sundays. I can build on those principles instead of spending my time “un-teaching” what she might hear in public school or in the ‘hood. I just want you to know that although they are not “children of your own”, you(and your volunteers) are doing an awful lot of kingdom work for these little ones. I could go on. Maybe another time. Getting hungry.

Comment by Joni

Dawn – so glad the post helped! Thanks for your comment!

Joni – yes, I do have LOTS AND LOTS of kids! (maybe that’s why i don’t have any that come home with me? 🙂 ) Thanks for your encouragement!!

Comment by Kathryn




Leave a Reply

