The Orchard Blog


Friday Morning Prayer by orchardblog
September 5, 2008, 6:00 am
Filed under: The Orchard

Worship the LORD, O Jerusalem; praise your God, O Zion; For he has strengthened the bars of your gates.  (Psalm 147:13-14a)

Glory be to the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning, it is now And ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Almighty and everlasting God, by whose Spirit the whole body of your faithful people is governed and sanctified: Receive my supplications and prayers, which I offer before you for all members of your holy Church, that in our vocations and ministries we may truly and devoutly serve you; through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, who lives and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen.

Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought me in safety to the beginning of this day: Preserve me with your mighty power, that I may not fall into sin, nor be overcome by adversity; and in all I do, direct me to the fulfilling of your purposes; through Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These prayer rythms have come at such a perfect time in my life. Prior to last weekend I felt like I was just spinning my wheels with the daily grind. All the pressures of being a great husband, father, son-in-law (we care for my wife’s father with Alzheimers) and leader(I work as VP for a publishing company) had me so drained. I just feel like I’m in a season of life where a good cry would go a long way. God seemed silent, even though I know He has never left me. But after a week of taking a few minutes to re-center with these prayers each day and set my mind on things above, not on the things that are on earth, I’m feeling a tangible difference in my spirit. Everything is not a bed of roses right now, and the worries of the world still threaten to choke out the seeds God is planting in my heart. And yet, five days into the prayer rythms, I feel a peace starting to take over in the midst of the storms. I’m regaining a clear picture of Jesus asleep peacefully at the stern of my life as the winds howl around me. If He should be so at peace, why shouldn’t I? The gentle yet clear reminders of how I’ve sinned against God even in the things that I have left undone where a huge wake up call for me. So now, I’m going into the weekend and days to come, looking for every opportunity to put my faith in Him and allow for His glory to blind the adversity in my life, so that the world would look at me and see Him. I believe this lesson of “becoming” is of the Lord and speaking directly to my heart. These prayer rythms have been a much needed oasis in the desert of the world’s worries. Praise God for bringing this to the Orchard!

Comment by Adam Mock

I have to say that I have loved this past week of prayer rythms! Like Adam said, they have come at such the perfect time. I know that I am way too easily distracted by the worries of this world, and so having the reminders throughout the day to stop whatever I was doing, come before the Lord and pray His Word back to Him was very sobering and exactly what I needed. This past week has really fanned into flame the desire in my heart to be on a more intimate level with God, to thirst for Him and to seek Him out in all that I do. So, thank you for the opportunity to join in on the rythm of prayer!

Comment by odd dotty




Leave a Reply

